Visitor's Rating: (0 out of 4/Number of Votes:0)
Cénevières castle is considered an epitome of the Renaissance architecture in Quercy region of the department of Lot. Hanging from a cliff 50 meters above the Lot River the castle was built between the 9th and 14th century as a defensive fort by its first two successive owners: the La Popie and Gourdon families.
In the first half of the 16th century Flotard de Gourdon, Viscount of Cénevières and Gaiffier and his wife Margueritte de Cardaillac, Baronne de Saint-Cirq Lapopie transformed the castle in a Renaissance palace. They added a central building with a gallery with nine Tuscan style columns, painted ceilings, an alchemy room, opening large carved windows.
Their son Antoine de Gourdon, a Calvinism convert, was one of the Huguenot leaders in the French religious wars of 1562–1598. He also received in the Cénevières castle the young Henri de Navarre the future King Henri IV of France.
In the 17th century the castle passes through marriage in the property of La Tour du Pin family who sells it at the end of the 18th century to Louis Naurissart , ancestor of the current owners.
The alchemy room of the Cénevières castle is a mysterious, unique space. It is painted with a dozen murals including scenes depicting episodes from the poem "Metamorphoses" by Latin poet Ovid, murals that have symbolic significance. The alchemy room of Cénevierès castle was not only designed for the seeking of the elixir of youth or the transmutation of the metals but also as meeting room where learned men and women were coming to converse, philosophize and share their knowledge.